The Great Disconnect

I was thinking today about being disconnected. That is how I feel. Disconnected to the church I’m attending. It isn’t anyone’s fault. It’s just that I want more.

I want a church that preaches truth and brings our sins into confrontation with Christ, addresses the very things that most of church-goers excuse and allow in their lives. I feel as though I will never find that kind of preaching again.

The church seems to exist on soft preaching. How can we be expected to survive and grow and thrive if all the concern is on numbers and lights and show and appearance? Really?

There was a church I attended that dealt with sin head-on. Then, they became a little off kilter and closed up and so God had to get me out. I began to learn love and grace and mercy, important things, yes, but in the midst of this, we are refusing to deal with the life threatening issues that we all face.

Moral failure is huge in the church today. So is complacency. A ‘good enough’ mentality is prevalent. Mediocrity and excuse and status quo thrive in our churches. Our youth are not being trained to be warriors for Christ. Rather, they are learning how to play church perfectly so they can go on youth ministry trips and have fellowship and be involved in bands and the like. We teach them to play at Christianity, and then we send them out into the world where they are devoured.

Modesty and purity are so rarely spoken about that it is no wonder that we have so much unwed pregnancies and pre-marital sex, that women show up to church showing things they never should, that men flirt and are inappropriate and that predators can go into churches and actually win over Christians with their lies and false charms and lure them away from God.

Why am I disconnected? Because there is no challenge, there is no reason to be on fire for God where I am, because those that are, are alone. To proclaim that Jesus is my one true love and my lover is brought into blushing correction. Where did the warped and perverted worldliness enter our minds? Where did compromise and excuse and status quo become the norm?

Oh, God, please either bring change into me where I can be passionate for You again where I am or move me, get me out, and plant me where I can once again grow and know You more. I weary of the great disconnect.

Leave a comment