Lay a whisper on my pillow

Have you ever really listened to lyrics of those songs that just melt the soul? Sometimes, a simple phrase from a song will capture me and leave me breathless. Take for example Big and Rich’s Lost in this Moment:

Lost in this moment with you
I am completely consumed
My feeling’s so absolute
There’s no doubt
Sealing our love with a kiss
Waited my whole life for this
Watching all my dreams come true
Lost in this moment with you

Isn’t that simply amazingly beautiful? Can you picture it, standing there on your wedding day, knowing that the one you’re marrying feels this way? I take it a step farther, though. This is what my Beloved says to me, feels for me, and awakens me to feel for Him.

How about the lyrics from Fall by Clay Walker:

So fall
Go on and fall apart
Fall into these arms of mine
I’ll catch you
Everytime you fall
Go on and lose it all
Every doubt, every fear
Every worry, every tear
I’m right here
Baby, fall

It is such a comfort to me knowing that I can fall, that I can be myself, that I can trust Jesus Christ to catch me every single time I fall. He loves me as I am and I don’t have to pretend to be something that I’m not. I don’t have to worry about Him not being there when I need Him, about Him loving me less, or being distracted. He looks forward to hearing from me, in fact, and never tires of hearing about my days, my dreams, my thoughts, ideas, and intentions. He never scowls at me or insults me when I make an error, nor does He ever insult me or call me names. He loves me so intensely that I’m spoiled for anyone else!

Shalom!

It must have been love by Roxette:

Lay a whisper on my pillow
Leave the winter on the ground
I wake up lonely
There’s air of silence in the bedroom
And all around
Touch me now
I close my eyes and dream away

Leave a Reply

